A Brief History of LGHS, Ijebu Itele


Ijebu History

In January 1995, the Sisters of St. Louis, Nigeria became a Province, which meant taking up more responsibilities for their training, community living and ministries. With these challenges in mind, the Sisters of St. Louis decided to extend their tradition of Christian Education to this part of Ogun State of Nigeria.

The founding members of the community of the Sisters of St. Louis in the persons of Srs. Carmel Mary Fagbemi (RIP), Agnes Funke Babalola and Adeline Okonkwo arrived Ijebu-Ife on 10th June 1995 to begin the work on the school site in Itele, a quiet rural community, devoid of all forms of distractions. The then Provincial team made up of Srs. Patricia Egbebulem (Provincial Superior), Ann Concannon, Carmel Mary Fagbemi (RIP) and Winifred Ojo missioned a group of Sisters to ensure the take-off of the school in January, 1998. This group consisted of Srs. Carmel Mary Fagbemi (RIP), Christiana Ogundele, Martha Chindo and Rita Akin-Otiko.

The whole idea of coming to Ijebu-Itele land was initiated by one of the friends of Sisters of St. Louis, Engr. Oresegun who linked the sisters with one of his cousins, Mr.Tunde Adeyemi (RIP), who donated the land to the Province. On March 22nd 1997, the foundation laying ceremony and fundraising for the new school took place at the site. Sr. Isabel Mann, the Provincial Superior then and her team started the process of making Louisville a reality while her successor, Sr. Patricia Egbebulem commissioned the team of the Sisters to start the school. On January 11th 1998, Louisville Girls High School was born on a 60-acre piece of land with 24 lovely bright looking girls. The Bishop of the Diocese, Most Rev. Dr Ayinde Fasina celebrated the opening Mass in the convent chapel.

LGHS Heads of Schools

The chief benefactresses and benefactors of the school have been Louisville parents. Since 1999 when the PTA was inaugurated, the school has enjoyed constant support especially under the able leadership of Dr. Kunle Fesobi (1999-2007). Others after him also made great contributions to the development of the school as it is today.

Their names are:

PTA Chairman Dr. Kunle Fesobi 1999 - 2007
PTA Chairman Prof. Anthony Oguntoye 2007 - 2011
PTA Chairman Mr. Sule Ozenua 2011 - 2014
PTA Chairman Mr. Ibinabo Gogo-Peter 2014 - 2017
PTA Chairman Mr. Philip Jatto 2017 - 2019
PTA Chairman Mr. Edwin Nwagwu 2019 - till date
Principal Sr Rita Akin-Otiko, SSL 1998 - 2006
Principal Sr Winifred Ojo, SSL 2006 - 2008
Principal Sr Christie Adegoroye, SSL 2011 - 2013
Principal Sr Matilda Adeboye, SSL 2013 - 2021
Principal Sr Catherine Ologunagba, SSL 2021 -
Ijebu-Itele in Brief